Home » WIAW » WIAW the hunger games

WIAW the hunger games

To start of this Saturday of yummy food, I’m going to rewind back into Friday evening..because that’s how many of my days go; strongly impacted by the way I end my previous day. The last thing I ate Friday were a few oatmeal cookies with Peppermint tea, about 2 hours before bedtime. I felt gorgeously satiated after that, but by the time I got into bed thee ol’ tummy felt a tad on the empty side. I hoped that since I wasn’t madly hungry I’d be able to fall asleep..buuut when an hour passed by, with my eyes stinging with exhaustion yet my tummy all revved up and grumbling now..I knew I didn’t stand a chance. So I threw together a yogurt/cereal bowl and called it good my lullaby. Well it certainly did the trick 🙂 . Moving on..

WIAWbutton

Come Saturday morning I didn’t wake up my ravenous self which was such a welcomed change. It also meant I could whip up a new favorite, CCK’S chocolate/peanut butter baked oatmeal. Because let’s get real here; between the time it takes for baking and letting it cool (SO important!), I’d be already gnawing my arm off if I was hangry to start with. While it was cooling my hunger was building up, so I sipped on tea 

Lemon gingerlemon ginger

Yes I do know that I can snack on something. However I am not yet comfortable with snacking before breakfast

Omitted added sweetener – topped with yogurt and berry jambaked oatmeal

So hooked on this right now. Well who wouldn’t like chocolate cake for breakfast? And when it’s filling and nutritious?                 Yes please! FYI: It’s really good with honey in place of jam too.

I’ve got a love/hate relationship with veggies since it was all I lived off not too long ago. We talking monster salads which held every RAW veg under the sun and caused my delicate belly some serious discomfort. And yes I know many people enjoy big, raw salads. But right now it’s not for me. That said…I’m positive I do love me some veggies. And if the way I’m craving them right now means a packed veggie bowl, then so be it

Roast butternut, cooked beets, cucumber, hummus, avocado and a good shake of black pepperveg bowl

Followed up some time later with

Rye bread topped with almond butter and honeyAB/honey

Rooibos tea to go along. I’m sorry for excluding my unphotogenic tea 😉

The lack of sleep starting taking effect and I tried to get myself to shut off for an hour or so in the afternoon. But I should know by now..daytime naps aren’t for me. Or maybe I was just hungry 😉 ?

Often these days when Mum cooks up something I like, I have to remind myself that as I’m no longer in the grips of my ED I’m ‘allowed’ to eat food I didn’t prepare. Mum’s hearty chicken stew

eaten with a whole grain wrapchicken stew

Whenever I eat Mum’s meals I swear I taste the love it was made with <3.

Insert a random slice of watermelon before heading out to get some chores done.

I couldn’t believe how hungry I was when putting together what I intended to be my bedtime meal

Yogurt, banana, Natures Path multi grain flakes, cinnamon, overcooked applesauce and Peanut butteryogurt/cereal bowl

Yup the yogurt isn’t really visible. But it’s more fun when it’s covered in cereal anyway! This with a mug of decaf Green tea. My original plan was to make this a ‘little’ bedtime snack. Judging on the level of my hunger I knew that I had to abort Operation 1 and go with my instinct to make it big. I felt good afterward, but not satisfied enough – story of my life. For as long as I can remember I’ve abided by the rule of brushing my teeth as soon as I’m done with my last meal to prevent myself from eating more before bed; the taste of strong minty toothpaste is a huge turnoff. Well last night I rebelled against that hard and fast rule. I didn’t want to stuff myself silly though, so I waited 30 min… and as I was certain I was actually hankering something else, enter my lullaby for the night BKB barbecue

A big thank you to our host Jenn for bringing us together to celebrate the one thing we ALL have in common : we love food!

I go through periods where I feel that maybe participating in WIAW isn’t a good thing for me now..is it feeding my anxiety? But it has a major positive in the fact that I tend to make more of an effort in following my hunger cues and eating enough on a day when I’m documenting my eats for everyone to see. I’m not sure why that is…but if it means becoming less restrictive overall, I’m all for it 🙂 .

One thought on “WIAW the hunger games

  1. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud #8 | pathofdiscoveryblog

Leave a Reply

