Home » Thinking Out Loud » Thinking Out Loud #13 The potato edition

Thinking Out Loud #13 The potato edition

In between the hecticness that is March, I’ve been doing my fair share of pondering thinking. It doesn’t do any good to keep musings contained in ones nervous system <- abit of gibberish right there..so I assumed it best to join Amanda and Think Out Loud.

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. I have daily fantasies of how cool it would be to have 7 or so clones just so I could get to read ALL the blogs. Of course I would need 7 or so forms of internet access (and I currently work with two very limited forms), but let’s ignore the finer details of my dream. My saving grace just so happens to be dedicated Link-love posts. Whenever I click on a link that hits close to home or proves entrancingly captivating, I immediately think how awful it would be if I had missed it. If my brain did not have the opportunity to grasp that magnificent content, how would I live?

2. So thank you to all my lifesavers 🙂 . Miss Polkadot’s latest round-up featured Becky’s “When I grow up”, which was exactly what I needed to hear read. A huge wave of relief washed over me as I read everyone’s ‘voice’ on the matter and it prompted me to make the final decision on an integral life choice. Basically something that teens usually have done by 18, I’m starting soon. No it’s not going back to school – I  kind of wish! At my age I thought I should have it all figured out…doing what I love. Only I don’t have anything figured out because I’m still in the process of finding out what I do love doing.

3. Orange sweet potatoes are a scarcity in my parts. I literally do a little squealy dance when I happen upon them. I was struck with a sweet potato-nut buttery-cottage cheese craving a few weeks ago, but after 2 grocery runs and no luck with the orange guys…I resorted to settling with their dull but suitably delicious cousins.

White sweet potato, cinnamon, crunchy peanut butter, cottage cheese.roasted sweet potato

If I am correct, in other areas of the world people are doing the happy dance when they find white sweet potatoes!? Like they say..the grass is always greener 😉

4. While we are so involved with sweet potatoes, can someone please break down the roasting procedure in easily comprehensible English. I scrubbed, poked, rubbed with some coconut oil, and laid it on tin foil. Baked at 200C for -40 min. turning halfway through. The outer area cooked perfectly, but deep down in its core things were a tad rock solid. Maybe I need to poke them holes deeper? I ended up having to slit it open and microwave for a minute to get that fluff factor. YUM!

5. I have a confession. I have never had a regular ol’ baked potato. It wouldn’t be a problem, but you see I’ve been envisioning one with a blob of melty butter on *gasp*, and now I can’t get it out of my head. What is the best method of baking a potato?

6. I like to think I am allergic to butter. Except not really. I have no qualms consuming the richness if someones else cooks/bakes. But spreading butter on bread or using it in recipes for myself? Nothing doing. But I have a hunch that I will willingly smear some on a baked potato.

7. All this potato talk, goodness! Did you ever hear an owl hoot? I’m not referring to movies or when Mum told you a story when you were a tot, but an owl outside your window just before dawn – calling out a soft, mysterious, haunting tune. It gives me a delightful shiver…love it! We have two that often honor us with their esteemed presence.

Trevor-Hardaker-spottedeagleowl-950x634

8. I don’t know if you guys have ever taken note – or maybe it just happens in my world (of aliens and fluffy socks 😉 ) – in summer, sunsets are layered with soft colors including pink and purple. As the season turns colder, the residual daylight appears duller and contained to orange and yellow. Breathtakingly beautiful nonetheless.

sunset

9. Sometimes I just feel so sick and tired of being responsible. Crazy huh? It’s like I’m done with playing by the rules and being known as a human who ‘stays on top of things’, ‘meets deadlines even if it kills her’, ‘puts work first’. It’s disturbing, because I should be gearing up for more responsibilities as I get older. Lately I’ve been slacking with living up to my punctual reputation…

10. Errh I’m kinda not yet done with talking about potatoes. Ever had that time where a certain combo sends you to taste bud heaven, and you forever regret not capturing that meal? On a whim for lunch the other day, I mixed 2 spoonfuls of tuna with a few tablespoons of Roasted Red pepper hummus, a good squeeze of lime juice, and a sprinkle of black pepper. Then proceeded to scoop it up with roasted sweet potato and broccoli. Gahhh so good. Do it! You are required to like fish to enjoy it though 😉 .

11. Who’s going to be having a baked sweet potato after this chat?

                                                                                   Happy potato eating Thursday 🙂

8 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud #13 The potato edition

  1. I don’t know if I’ve ever had an authentic “baked” potato since I grew up “baking” them in the microwave. Maybe at restaurants?

    The first time I made a paleo sweet potato pie, I went to the store and bought the white sweet potatoes because the orange ones were labeled “yams”. I was so disappointed when I got home and started reading online reviews that said I bought the wrong ones! While they were quite tasty, I definitely don’t do a happy dance when I see them because of that incident.

  2. Yeeeep. I’ll most definitely be having a potato in some form at some point today… You and Arman are horrible for making me crave them so badly. As for baking them, I don’t think really have an exact method behind it, but what I’ll usually do is wrap the whole thing in aluminum foil before tossing it into a 400F oven for 30-40 minutes. That being said, it’s been a while since I’ve done that… My favourite way is to cut them up into chunks, toss them in olive oil and spices, and then roast. Omg. Want. Now.

    • Cutting into chuncks definitely sounds like a less complicated method. I think I should just go with that..at least I’ll get the craving squashed 😉

  3. Growing up in the countryside I did indeed hear owls and other birds singing, chirping or alternately making creepy noises. The funniest memory I have, however, is connected with redstarts …
    Potatoes with butter and salt – pure bliss. Though I never bake mine because I’m both lazy and impatient. It’s been too long since I last had them because for whichever reason starchy potatoes are only sold in 5 lb-bags.
    Don’t stress yourself too much, girl. You don’t always have to be on time with hundred tasks at the same time.

  4. Actually, where I live now, I hear owls at night all the time… and turkeys…and squirrels. It’s like critters central outside my house! And yes, I have noticed that sunsets change colors depending on the seasons. Right now we are having some dramatic ones.

    • There’s just something about an owl’s call that gets me fluttery inside. Whoo-boy you have quite a party there!
      Sunsets are magical ❤

  5. Pingback: WIAW – em”brace”ing my options | pathofdiscoveryblog

Leave a Reply

