Home » Recovery » ED » My MOD : movement of the day

My MOD : movement of the day

I have no workout program; no agenda of strength training x times a week, cardio on so many days, stretching and so on. Perhaps there will be a time where I will need to have some sort of exercise schedule, but as off now I can’t deny I am loving the liberty of going with the flow. Now that the roller coaster levels of intense fatigue has long passed I find myself enjoying doing a little something every day. Its incredible how sharp my body is..I do not have to make a mental effort to ensure my forms of exercise is kept light, because my body feels tired once I’ve done enough. And that “enough” varies from day to day.

picture sourceFreedomSign

I’m learning so much just by listening. I’m learning that when I feel ‘lazy’ and ‘sluggish’, a little walking and stretching is just what I need to pep me up. After sitting for most of the day and I’m a ball of restless energy – a few intervals of skipping in the fresh air works magic. When I’ve got a good balance of calm and energetic going on, I’ll zen out on my pilates mat. I find pilates to be an utterly thorough workout, engaging the muscles deep within – to successfully carry out a few movements I have to be nicely “in tune”. But the most important thing I have determined: after a few minutes of “moving” I should be invigorated and enjoying the feel of energy running through me. If once the blood is flowing I am struggling and lacking oomph then I need to stop. It’s my body’s way of saying I should be resting today/right now. 

The fact that I tire more easily and lack the endless stamina I had once upon a time means nothing to me right now. Never before could I take a random 20 min. walk simply because I want to daydream while my blood pumps through my stiff legs. Funny how pleasant an activity can be when you aren’t doing it to burn off the breakfast you are planning to eat!  No longer do I need to get it done with at the break of dawn for fear I will lack the time or energy later in the day. These days I prefer to get moving in the afternoon, so I don’t devote all of my morning energy into exercise when I’ve got a lot of mental work to do. Ten minutes can suffice, abandoning it leaves no guilt, and the only reason I’m moving is because…it feels good.

 

 

3 thoughts on “My MOD : movement of the day

  1. That is wonderful that you have learned to work with your body so well instead of against it! I know exactly what you mean on those days when you feel terrific & energized just a few mins into exercise. But I’ve def been guilty of forcing myself through workouts when I’m exhausted or it just feels plain terrible. Perhaps it’s because I grew up as an athlete, and never had the choice but to give it my all every single day. But I think it’s about time to break that cycle!

    • Thank you for your kind words Syd! It just feels so good that I’m not setting anything for myself in stone..and that I will not have a hernia and die if I skip so many days! Hmm I too was heavy in “sport” and it gets to the point of robotically exercising, amIright!?
      You are on complete rest now hey?

  2. Pingback: Replace, redeem, revalue… | pathofdiscoveryblog

Leave a Reply

