Home » WIAW » WIAW..magic in the mingling flavors

WIAW..magic in the mingling flavors

Can I just warn you at first hand that I am pretty much incapable of excluding the braces into foodie talk! Whaaat, it goes with the territory. For a few days following the monthly visit and having them tightened recently; the act of eating lost its enjoyment once more. Sad days indeed. Every cloud has it’s silver lining though… the minute things got comfortable in the mouth, there are no words to describe how I rejoiced as every smidgen of flavour could be savoured when chowing down. I am relishing the complexity and depth of flavours going on these days, and knowing that there is a celebration of yumminess down at Jenn’s place? It would be an absolute crime to allow memorable explosions on the taste buds to dissolve -forgotten- into the atmosphere.

WIAWbutton

Today it’s not about following a day’s worth… kind of resembling my mind in a mish-mash of meals following one theme: identifying the magicalness [beyond the surface] in a mingling of flavours.

breakfastBaked Apple oatmeal sans raisins because I simply wasn’t feeling them. Now in this unsuspecting bowl – do you have any idea of the assortment of flavours creating… magic? Cinnamon-y apple pie drizzled with coconut milk, orange blossom honey and white almond butter. Orange blossom honey, I owe you a heartfelt apology… you tried to entice me as I completely ignored you in favour of old standbys. Well is it too late to go steady? Bahhh whatever, we going steady whether you like it or not. You know what’s the gravest realization? I would not have even acknowledged orange blossom if it didn’t fall into my hands as a gift. Way to earn my love, smart human.

The above breakfast didn’t lack an ounce of “oomph” overall, but on that particular day it wasn’t just enough. Or maybe I was missing the evident lack of AM caffeine which was soon rectified with a double dose.breakfast dessertBreakfast’s dessert if you will: the sweet, milky hazelnut latte mingling with the deep, dark chocolate resulting in the most incredible balance of flavour. Yes that is my idea of balance… not ratios – bang on flavour.

chocolate oatmealRepeat action with a twist: dark chocolate oatmeal with half a banana cooked in, drenched in coconut milk, dusted with cinnamon, topped with chunky applesauce, a drizzle of orange blossom honey and a dollop of peanut butter.

 

soup lunchSpicy butternut corn soup along with an avocado quesadilla and steamed broccoli. I could write a novel on my dream butternut soup, but something tells me it might not fare as a bestseller. Hmm, so let me ramble a short while on how I don’t like my butternut soup: sweet, sour, and creamy. The savoury side of me has enhanced somewhat in recent times – when I’m in the mood for savoury, it has to be savoury. Especially when we’re dealing with a delicate bowl of soup; all too simple to mess up the spice equation. To draw this tale to a halt – this bowl ticked all the right boxes: broth-based, spicy enough to have me sniffling, and chock full off flavour; complementing the “cool” sides masterfully.

koeksisterAllow me to introduce you to – what we call – a koeksister. Originally originated in Malaysia (I think! History is not my strong point) I do hope there is another, more pleasant term for this delightful confection. Because it is a far cry from anyone’s cooked sister… don’t let the name fool you; mixed spiced dough, deep fried and soaked in a sticky sweet syrup before receiving a roll in coconut. Yeah it’s as good as it sounds… and goes down a treat with a hot mug of coffee.

 

schwarma supper

A really bad image of really good food. That happens. Hot homemade – perfectly fluffy – steak shawarma with steamed broccoli, roasted potatoes and roast onion cream cheese. As much as I would like to proclaim one specific component as the “star of the show”, the combined flavours are what optimally satisfied the tummy and the taste buds; down to the huge dose of vitamin C on the side.

 

Do you believe in the magic of mingling flavours?

Favourite type of honey?

Ever needed a dessert after a sweet breakfast?

 

 

5 thoughts on “WIAW..magic in the mingling flavors

  1. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve had to tackle a 9 AM chocolate craving just a short while after eating breakfast, so yup! Dessert after breakfast is a pretty regular thing 🙂 And orange blossom honey sounds amazing! I don’t think I’ve ever had it, but I can definitely attest to the fact that not all honey is created equal. My personal favourite, buckwheat, is a darker honey with a pretty intense flavour. The little honey bears found in the regular stores just don’t really compare anymore 😦

    • I’ve heard buckwheat receiving honourable mention many an occasion; haven’t come across it myself though.
      Dessert after breakfast is just thee most satisfying ever 😀 .

  2. Pingback: WIAW: “Perfectly” Intuitive | pathofdiscoveryblog

Leave a Reply

